Delta Doctors Program - DRA J-1 Visa Waiver

The following U.S. federal agencies presently have established J-1 visa waiver programs: the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Delta Regional Authority (Delta Doctors Program), the U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs, and the Appalachian Regional Commission.

The Delta Doctors Program sponsored by the Delta Regional Authority (DRA) applies to doctors who seek to be employed in medically underserved areas in one of the following participating states: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.

This program aims to increase the number of doctors and medical care providers serving by allowing foreign physicians (FMGs/IMGs) who are trained in this country to work in medically underserved areas for three years. A waiver of the 2-year foreign residency requirement is granted upon the commitment to accept employment in an underserved area in this region for 3 years. The Delta Doctors program accepts waiver requests for primary care as well as medical specialists.


Disclaimer: The materials in Asonye & Associates web site have been prepared to permit visitors to our web site to learn more about the services we offer. These materials do not, and are not intended to, constitute legal advice. Neither transmission nor receipt of such materials will create an attorney-client relationship between the sender and receiver. Internet subscribers and online readers are advised not to take or refrain from taking any action based upon materials in this web site without consulting legal counsel. We do not undertake to update any materials in our Web Site to reflect subsequent legal or other developments.